END OF THE WAR MUSEUM – Dongo
The exhibition takes place in the ground floor rooms of the historic Palazzo Manzi: a multimedia narration which involves the visitors in an interesting frame of memoirs and tales. Video projections and soundscapes bring back to life the heroes of the Resistance and the defeated in an immersive experience designed to engage and inform people of all ages.
PALAZZO MANZI – Dongo
In Palazzo Manzi, now the Town Hall, you can enjoy some intact and original environments as the golden Room. Once it was the family Manzi’s representative room, a rare example of neoclassical style in the Upper Lake area. On the ceiling you can admire an elegant fresco of Parnaso painted in 1800’s by Franseco Lavelli. In the same building you can find a small museum dedicated to the resistance during the Second World War now temporarely closed because of restore works. On April 27th 1945, the troops escorting Mussolini and some of his ministers were captured between Musso and Dongo. The captive ministers were brought to Palazzo Manzi and later shot. Mussolino was executed in Giulino di Mezzegra.
THE PARISH CHURCH OF S. STEFANO – Dongo
This church lies just of the main road near the lake, beyond the bridge on the Albano stream. Considered as one of the oldest parish churches in the diocese of Como, this church became parish church in the 12th century. Its basilica like structure with a nave and two aisles probably dates back to the 14th century, but the current shape of the church results from an 18th-century restoration which damaged the pre-existing decoration. Inside there are frescoes of 1520 by the painter Gian Giacomo Barbello of Crema.
THE CHURCH OF S. MARIA IN MARTINICO – Dongo
This Romanesque church was completely restored in the 20th century. The campanile was rebuilt. The only original portal is located on the northern side in the direction of the presbytery and is sustained by thin columns with carved bases and capitals. Inside, the church has a single large nave with semicircular apse. The apse preserves 17th century frescoes by Giovan Mauro Della Rovere, called Fiammenghino. The treasury of the church preserves a processional cross worked by the goldsmith Sergregori of Gravedona. It dates back to 1513.
THE SANCTUARY OF THE MADONNA DELLE LACRIME – Dongo
The Sanctuary is located along the main road just past the ridge over the river Albano. . It dates back to the period a miracle happened in 1553. According to the tradition, the frescoed image of the Madonna with Child on the external wall of a vineyard, which had already escaped a flood of the Albano stream several years before, shed tears. People considered it as a sign against the danger of Luther’s heresy and built the church as a thanks giving The presbytery walls and the main arch were frescoed in 1599 by Domenico Caresana of Cureglia.
THE CHURCH OF S. GOTTARDO – Dongo
Built in the second part of the 1600’s on a hill with a superb panoramic view. In the octagonal interior there is a valuable altar piece by Giacomo Berbelli.
THE CHURCH OF S. EUFEMIA
Situated on the spur which separates Musso and Dongo, it was built in the 15th century as the “church of the castle”. From the church courtyard there is a wonderful view of the top part of the lake (Altolago).
VILLA CARLOTTA: MUSEUM AND BOTANICAL GARDEN – Tremezzo
Villa Carlotta is one of the most famous villas on Lake Como, a unique place of rare beauty where the work of man and the work of nature live in perfect harmony. Nowadays Villa Carlotta’s most famous feature is the colourful spring blossom of its 150-plus varieties of rhododendrons and azaleas. but its gardens are well worth visiting all year round for its camellia bushes, citrus galleries as well as trees, plants and herbs coming from all over the world.
VILLA DEL BALBIANELLO – Lenno
The villa is set on the tip of the Lavedo Peninsula, a triangle-shaped woodland that stretches down to the lakeside, embracing a wide panorama. Its enviable location makes it one of the most scenic villas on Lake Como. From here and particularly from the much renowned Loggia, immortalized in so many films, one can enjoy breathtaking views. The garden still plays a prominent role. its terraces follow the shape of the rocky hillside where grassy areas bordered by laurel bushes and boxwood alternate with steep drops softened by clinging ivy. Every single detail is set out in relation to the lake and the landscape. There are few high trees like holmoaks, cypresses, camphor and plane trees skillfully pruned. Even the winding trails have been so patterned as to offer the best views. The villa then passed through a succession of owners.
GARDENS OF VILLA MELZI D’ERIL – Bellagio
The villa’s imposing and severe look creates a stunning contrast to the amazing English garden and the lush surrounding scenery, resulting in a very harmonious setting. A visit to the garden is highly recommended for both art and nature lovers. Designed by the architect Luigi Canonica and the botanist Luigi Villoresi between 1808 and 1810, the park is home to many varieties of flowers, plants and trees in addition to exotic essences as was typical for the time period. In the park there are also valued statues, a Moorish-style pavilion and an orangerie which now houses a small museum with archaeological finds, early 16th-century frescoes and memorabilia from the Napoleonic time.
GARDENS OF VILLA SERBELLONI – Bellagio
The villa is a jewel of very old origin. Its park occupies the steep peninsula that divides Lake Como into three branches. The park boasts picturesque walks, a luxurious vegetation with both local and exotic plants, garden terracing, sculptures and grottos. On the way from the Tower in Bellagio to the top of the promontory, one can also enjoy breathtaking views over the mid-lake area with its three branches and the Pre-Alps.
GALLIO PALACE – Gravedona ed Uniti
It is one of the most visited places in Gravedona, whose roots lie in both the history of the small village that among the powers of wealthy Europeans in 1600. Through the centuries, much of what must have been created in a formal style has been replaced by English-style flowerbeds and trees, large conifers, magnolias and camelias. However, the upper, or entrance, garden still has trees incompatible with Renaissance models (the two Magnolia grandiflora on either side of the steps), the layout has remained formal, especially the central walk with box hedges and a fountain basin decorated with herbaceous perennials.
During the summertime there are many entertaining evenings. Make sure not to miss the fireworks display and water theme floats on 14th August in Gravedona ed Uniti.
Do not forget to go to visit our facebook page! Click here